Founded by William Marshall the Younger, for the Dominican Friars in 1225, the Black Abbey was at the centre of civic life in Kilkenny for centuries. It was repressed in 1543, converted into a courthouse and served as such until the end of the 17th century.
Partially restored in 1778, the Abbey did not become a place of public worship until the mid-19th century. Its modern and antique stained glass windows are stunning and there are fascinating statues and relics on display there.
Kilkenny County Council, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny
Tel: +353 (0) 56 7794000 | Fax: +353 (0) 56 7794004 | Email: firstname.lastname@example.org | Emergency outside office hours: : 1890 252 654
Feedback | About Us | Privacy | Disclaimer